MUSEUMS: Nowashe Village to host “Wingmasters” program | Free time
SOUTH WINDSOR – The village of Nowashe at the Wood Memorial Library and Museum will host “Wingmasters: Native American Birds of Prey & Native American Craft and Culture” Saturday from 10am to 11am.
The presentation, by Julie Anne Collier, features live birds of prey that cannot be released into the wild. It also focuses on Indian crafts from the plains and woods and shows how different Native American cultures transformed natural materials into objects of beauty and drama.
Most of the objects on display incorporate feathers from birds of prey. Handicrafts featured on the program range from headdresses, clothing and jewelry to shields and weapons. Perlage, spiciness and basketwork are also presented.
Tickets cost $ 20 for adults and $ 15 for students aged 6 and over and students upon presentation of ID.
This price includes entry to the museum in the village of Nowashe on Saturday and all presenters or activities that are scheduled during normal museum hours from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m.
• The village of Nowashe will go back in time on Saturday from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m.
Indigenous educator Miciah Statis will present modern wampum jewelry. Statis will be showcasing handcrafted wampum jewelry, some of which will be available for purchase.
Step back in time with Bloomfield author Chris Duffy Zerillo as she reads and discusses her new historical fiction novel, “Still Here,” about the early conflict between Native Americans and Massachusetts settlers.
Finally, join educationalists Maureen Bourn and Monica Duval as they travel through time to the Paleo, Archaic and Forest periods.
Museum enthusiasts will see the tools that have made it possible to survive and thrive in the Connecticut environment. Tools from the Stone Age and their modern equivalents will also be explored.
Admission to Nowashe Village always includes a self-guided multimedia tour on your personal electronic device, a glimpse of a special Native American artifact, an Explorer activity for kids, and docents on duty ready to answer your questions.
Nowashe Village participates in the Connecticut Summer at Museums program. All summer long, children 18 and under, plus an accompanying adult, enter participating Connecticut museums free of charge.
The village of Nowashe is located at 787 Main Street in South Windsor, just behind the Wood Memorial Library. Visit Nowashe.org and start making new discoveries today.
The Hebron Historic Properties Commission has opened two historic sites for tours from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. through Sunday.
The two buildings now reside with the Old Town Records Building and 1856 Horton House, in the Town Office Building complex at 15 Gilead Street.
The two new buildings are the Gull School and the WWII Civilian Aircraft Observation Post.
Gull School, in the Grayville section of Hebron, was located at the intersection of Grayville Road and Old Colchester Road.
The original building burned down and this replacement was built around 1815.
In 1949, when Hebron Elementary School was opened, all of the city’s one-room schools were closed.
Henrietta Green bought the Gull Schoolhouse, moved it to her property, and made it look like it did when she taught there in the early 1930s.
The observation post was built in 1942 on top of Post Hill, Columbia, just above the Hebron city limit.
“Spotters” were scheduled in both Hebron and Columbia for 24/7 coverage, and they reported every aircraft that passed through the Boston screening center. The fear at the time was that the Atlantic and Pacific coastal states could be attacked by the Axis during the war. In addition to the frontline activities, you will see information about the individuals of Hebron who served our country, as well as an extensive collection of WWII books, sheet music, photos and more.
The South Windsor Historical Society will be offering physical and virtual tours of its Pleasant Valley District # 5 School Museum during the summer.
Used as a district elementary school from 1862 to 1952, the building was renovated and expanded by the company as a local history museum containing memorabilia from the school and the city. It is the only former district school in South Windsor that has not been demolished or converted into a house. It replaced an old school that had been built on the north side of Ellington Road in 1837.
Most of the upper level is kept as a typical 19th century school hall, while the lower level displays various objects from the town’s agricultural and social history.
Family or small group appointments for a free physical tour of the museum at 727 Ellington Road can be made by calling Museum President Joan Walsh at 860-644-6000.
HARTFORD – The Mark Twain House and Museum has a new tour, “Growing Up in the Golden Age: Daily Life in Susy, Clara and Jean’s House”.
During this hour-long interactive tour, young visitors explore the daily lives of the Clemens girls – the books, games and songs they loved, the subjects they studied, and the people they interacted with. This tour is best suited for ages 4-9. For information and tickets visit: MarkTwainHouse.org/Kids
The D’Amour Museum of Fine Arts at the Springfield Museums will host the “Ai Weiwei: Tradition and Dissent” exhibit until January 2.
Internationally renowned artist and social activist, Weiwei is an artistic innovator, provocateur and political dissident who explores tradition in non-traditional, even radical ways. This exhibition focuses on works of art that represent Ai’s engagement with traditional Chinese materials, methods, patterns and artifacts.